• Login
  • / CARICOM Song /
  • Webmail /

Honouring our Greats - Triennial Award for Women

The Award

This award takes the form of a 15-Carat gold pin inscribed with the interlocking C's of our Community's logo. The Bauxite Industry Development Company (BIDCO) in Guyana Donated the pin. Accompanying the pin is a scroll encased in a leather pouch. The CARICOM Triennial Award for Women was introduced to recognize and honour such women of distinction in the Caribbean. In 1983, CARICOM celebrated its 10th anniversary and during a meeting of Ministers of Women's Affairs to commemorate this event, it was recognized that the 1973 Treaty of Chaguaramas addressed the need to examine the position of women in the Region. Evolving out of the deliberations at the meeting of Ministers was the recommendation to confer an Award to an outstanding CARICOM woman whose work had made a significant contribution to the socio-economic development of the Caribbean. In response, the CARICOM Secretariat introduced the CARICOM Triennial Award for Women Scheme
Learn more

Triennial Awardees

To date there have been 12 recipients of this award

Shirley Pryce

Year Received: 2017

Ms. Shirley Pryce, a veteran advocate for Domestic workers right, motivational speaker and an “example of women’s empowerment”, joins the rank of some of the Caribbean’s most excellent and exemplary, courageous, committed and creative women. She is the recipient of the Twelfth Triennial Award for...

Ms Marion Berthel

Year Received: 2014

Marion Bethel, Bahamian by birth and quintessential Caribbean woman, is a distinguished attorney, scholar, poet, film-maker, essayist and short-story writer who has gained national, regional and international recognition and acclaim for her advocacy in the areas of gender equality and human...

Professor Violet Eudine Barriteau

Year Received: 2011

The acceptance of women as authority figures or as role models is an important step in female education…..It is this process of identification, respect, and then self-respect that promotes growth. Judy Chicago.

Professor Violet Eudine Barriteau, is both an exemplary authority figure in her role as...

Hon. Madam Justice Desiree Bernard

Year Received: 2005

The Honourable Madam Justice Desiree Bernard, the first female judge of the Caribbean Court of Justice was conferred with the honour of the eighth CARICOM Triennial Award for Women. A lawyer by profession, she began her career in 1963 when she attained a Bachelor of Laws Degree from the University...

Professor Rhoda Reddock

Year Received: 2002

Professor Rhoda Reddock, national of Trinidad and Tobago and esteemed scholar of the Caribbean Community, is the seventh outstanding woman from the Caribbean Community to receive the CARICOM Triennial Award for Women.

Attaining a Doctorate in Applied Sociology in 1984 at the University of...

Professor Joycelin Massiah

Year Received: 1999

In acknowledgement of her exceptional career accomplishments,Professor Joycelin Massiah was conferred the CARICOM Triennial Award for Women in 1996. A true Caribbean citizen, Professor Massiah’s life path transcends Caribbean boundaries having been born in Guyana, studied and worked for several...

Dr. Lucille Mathurin Mair

Year Received: 1996

Dr. Lucille Mathurin Mair is undoubtedly a Caribbean citizen of great intellectual stature and high international repute and of whom all the Caribbean is proud. For her outstanding service as a diplomat, scholar and women’s rights activist she was accorded the highly deserved honour of fifth...

Magda Lois Muriel Pollard

Year Received: 1993

Magda Lois Muriel Pollard, national of Guyana, and stalwart women’s activist was fittingly bestowed the honour of the fourth CARICOM Triennial Award for Women in 1993. Throughout her country of birth and the wider Caribbean region, the name Magda Pollard is synonymous with the movement for women’s...

Dr. Peggy Antrobus

Year Received: 1990

Dr. Peggy Antrobus, third recipient of the CARICOM Triennial Award in 1990, has a true Caribbean cross-national identity. She was born in Grenada, acquired citizenship of St. Vincent and the Grenadines and now resides in Barbados. Her vast and much recognized work and contributions in the area of...

Dame Ruth Nita Barrow

Year Received: 1987

In any consideration of exceptional women of the Caribbean, the name Dame Nita Barrow, second recipient of the CARICOM Triennial Award, assumes much significance. A distinguished and highly celebrated Caribbean citizen, the late Dame Ruth Nita Barrow gave extraordinary service to Barbados, her...

Ms. Nesta Patrick

Year Received: 1984

It was most likely that Nesta Patrick, first recipient of the CARICOM Triennial Award for Women, accepted the Honorary Doctor of Laws (LLD) conferred on her by the University of the West Indies at St. Augustine in 2001 with characteristic humility and pride. This marked another milestone in the...

Professor Barbara Evelyn Bailey


Professor Barbara Evelyn Bailey, Jamaican by birth and a Caribbean woman by disposition, has distinguished herself...

View all Triennial Awardees


What's New...

Other awards

OCC Awards