• Login
  • / CARICOM Song /
  • Webmail /

CARICOM 10k races off on Sunday morning

Posted in: Regional News by volderine | 30 June 2019 | 2035

    Throwback: A group shot of CARICOM 10k participants in Jamaica in 2018
    Throwback: A group shot of CARICOM 10k participants in Jamaica in 2018

    Long distance runners from  across the CARICOM Region will compete in the annual CARICOM 10-K Road Race in Saint Lucia, on Sunday, 30 June 2019.

    The race takes place ahead of the Fortieth  Regular Meeting of the Conference of CARICOM Heads of Government, scheduled for the 3-5 July 2019, at the Sandals Grande St. Lucian Hotel.

    The 10-K in male and female categories will begin at Rodney Bay and culminate at the park across from the Castries Waterfront. There will be an accompanying 5-k, as well as a 1-K  for the special guests who will be in Saint Lucia for the Heads of Government Meeting.

    First place 10K winners will each receive an enviable US$1000, second place will win US$800, and third place US$500. Additionally, the senior male first place winner will receive the CARICOM Chairman’s Trophy, while the female champion will be awarded the CARICOM Secretary-General’s Trophy. The sponsors for the event are the Saint Lucia National Lotteries Authority and Blue Waters.

    Throwback to the CARICOM 10k Road Race in Jamaica in 2018

    Last year, Jamaica won the top two places in the men’s leg of the Race in Montego Bay. Dwayne Graham won in a time of 34:15 and Oshane Archibald placed second with a time 34:19. Vincentian Junior Ashton got the third spot in 35:54 while his fellow country-man and former event winner Pamenos Ballantyne placed fourth in 37:40.

    Vincentian Athlete Linda McDowald copped her second title in the women’s leg of the event with a winning time of 39:50.  This was slightly slower than her 37:57 run for her first title in 2016 in Guyana. Second place went to Grenadian Kenisha Pascal who crossed the finish line in 40:21 while third place went to Carlie Pipe of Barbados in 46:12.

    This year’s event promises to be equally exciting with Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Dominica, Grenada,  Jamaica, Saint Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname and Anguilla registered to participate.

    Share this: