• Login
  • / CARICOM Song /
  • Webmail /
Member States and Associate Members

Twenty countries make up the Caribbean Community (CARICOM).Fifteen are full members and  five are  Associate Members.

The geographical boundaries of our Community stretch from The Bahama Islands in the north, southward to Guyana and Suriname – both on the north coast of the South American mainland. They also extend from Belize in the West on the Central American mainland to Barbados – the most easterly of the islands. Suriname defines the eastern boundary of the Community.

All CARICOM countries are classified as developing countries. They are all relatively small in terms of population and size, and  diverse  in terms of geography and population, culture and  levels of economic and social development.
CARICOM countries share similarities and challenges. On the one hand they are all in proximity to major markets in North and South American, and  most countries,  have had to make  the  transition from agriculture or mining to a service-driven economy, especially tourism and financial services. On the other hand, they have to overcome the challenges  of frequent  natural disasters, in addition to  small size with  associated lack of economies of scale and vulnerability to external shocks.

All members subscribe to the Community’s principles outlined in the   Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas (2002).  Leaders of member states shape the Community’s policies and priorities. They meet  twice  yearly to discuss issues affecting the Community and the wider world at the Conferences of Heads of Government. All members have an equal say regardless of size or economic status. This ensures that every member has a voice in shaping the Caribbean Community.

Member States

There are 15 Member States and they are listed in alphabetical order below:

Antigua and Barbuda

Membership: 1974-07-04


Membership: 1983-07-04


Membership: 1973-08-01


Membership: 1974-05-01


Membership: 1974-05-01


Membership: 1974-05-01


Membership: 1973-08-01


Membership: 2002-07-01


Membership: 1973-08-01


Membership: 1974-05-01

Saint Lucia

Membership: 1974-05-01

St Kitts and Nevis

Membership: 1974-07-26

St Vincent and the Grenadines

Membership: 1974-05-01


Membership: 1995-07-04

Trinidad and Tobago

Membership: 1973-08-01

Associate Members

There are 5 Associate members and they are listed in alphabetical order below:


Membership: 1999-07-04


Membership: 2003-07-02

British Virgin Islands

Membership: 1991-07-02

Cayman Islands

Membership: 2002-05-12

Turks and Caicos Islands

Membership: 1991-07-02

Membership in CARICOM

According to the Treaty of Chaguaramas of the Caribbean Community, membership of the Caribbean Community shall be open to any other State or Territory of the Caribbean Region that is, in the opinion of The Conference, able and willing to exercise the rights and assume the obligations of membership.

Read more

Our Governance

About the Caribbean Community